Walking around WallyWorld the other day I found pomegranates on sale – and being that they’re in season right now, that didn’t surprise me but I’ve never EVER cooked with actual pomeganates… always either juice or cranberries soaked in pom juice. They called to me. “Buy us, then eat us” they said.

How could I refuse?

I bought two, and a 16oz bottle of Pom Wonderful and had a plan! I came home, scoured the internet for at least a starting point on how to deseed the poms… because believe me, I cut into one and was like AHHHHH! I’m bleeding! No wait, that’s just the juice. /sigh-o-relief

I did the “underwater” de-seeding method and it worked quite loverly. Then proceeded to my ‘master plan.’

 

A few days earlier some of our good friends from Cali decided that they wanted to hang out, and who were we to deny them. I did, however, decide to cook them a fantastic meal. So I did. And it was fantastic.

 

Pomegranate Baked Chicken:

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole pomegranate – de-seeded.
  • 16oz of Pom Wonderful
  • 3 large, boneless chicken breasts – cut width wise so you end up with 6 thinner breasts.
  • 2/3rds cup of pomegranate balsamic vinegar – I got mine at Whole Foods! (love that store)
  • 2 tbsp of smoked paprika
  • 3/4s cup of light brown sugar
  • 4 tbsps of butter
  • 2 tsp of rosemary
  • 2tbsps of FRESH ginger, grated.
  • 3 tbps of white pepper
  • Dash o salt
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425F
  2. Combine the pomegranate seeds, balsamic vinegar, and pom juice in a bowl.
  3. Take 3 cups worth of the juice mixture and put that in a small saucepan. Add 1/2 cup of sugar to the pan and bring to rolling boil for 5 minutes then reduce to simmer for 30 minutes.
  4. Add olive oil to the bottom of a 9×13 glass baking dish and lay the chicken breasts down on top of the oil.
  5. Take the remaining juice mixture, add all the herbs and remaining sugar and stir. Then pour that over top of the chicken and toss in the oven.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes.
  7. Take the remaining sauce and pour it into a gravy boat.
  8. Remove chicken from oven – let set for 5 minutes. Plate and enjoy.

I wish I would have taken some pictures but it was sooo tasty.

