Hi. I’m Katsai. I edit the blog (badly). I’m sneaking on here to post two recipes. This one, and another which I’ll post right after this one because I can. Muahahahahahhaha! I go for more easy meals than gourmet, but they’ve still gotta taste good. So without further ado, here’s one of my favorites.

1 Lb lean ground beef
1/2 yellow onion, diced
1 large green bell pepper, chopped
2 cloves garlic, diced
2 14.5 oz cans stewed tomatoes (I used the original, but you can use the Italian variety as well)
1 15 oz can of tomato sauce
1 12 oz can of tomato paste
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp cracked black pepper
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp basil
2 tbsp basalmic vinegar

Brown and drain the ground beef, then add to large stock pot. Add in vegetables (yes, yes, tomato is technically a fruit but I’m calling it a veggie, so hush!), tomato sauce and paste and stir until well mixed together. Add bay leaf, garlic, spices, and balsamic vinegar. Pepper to taste. I used about a tablespoon of pepper. On medium heat, bring to a boil, stirring frequently, then reduce heat to medium-low (about 3 on my range’s dial) and cover. Let it simmer for about 30 to 45 minutes, stirring regularly to keep anything from sticking to the bottom of the pot.

Serve over a bed of spaghetti noodles with sides of your choice. Enjoy! I topped mine with some finely grated asiago cheese, but it’s not really necessary. Parmesan works well too.

Oh, one word of caution. If you’ve never cooked with a bay leaf, remember these two things:
1. One is all you need.
2. It’s there to flavor everything else, but is not really edible, so if you find the leaf in your food, don’t eat it.

